We are the world's first ethical recruiter to achieve the United Nation's IOM IRIS certification

David Bensadon receives for We Are Caring the IRIS certification from Sarah Lou Ysmael Arrilola IOM Regional Director Asia Pacific

We Are Caring Singapore has been International Recruitment Integrity System (IRIS) certified on 18 January 2022 (LRN00012201). We are proud to be the FIRST Labour Recruiter in the world to pass this certification. We aim to shortly obtain asimilar certification for our sister company in Hong Kong.


What is the IRIS certification?

IRIS is an ethical international labour recruitment programme from IOM, the leading intergovernmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners. 

The IRIS Standard is a set of global principles that define ethical recruitment. It is based on international labour and human rights instruments and was developed through extensive multi-stakeholder consultation. IRIS’s initiative aims to make international recruitment fair for everyone involved: migrant workers, employers, recruiters and countries of origin and destination.

The IRIS Standard articulates what ethical recruitment means in practice and how labour recruiters can demonstrate compliance. It serves as a reference point for integrating ethical principles into recruitment-related management systems.

The IRIS standard

The most robust assessment tool of ethical recruitment practices

The IRIS Standard consists of two overarching principles and five specific principles. Each principle is supported by one or more criteria with corresponding sets of indicators to be met by labour recruiters to be IRIS compliant.
You can find the seven core IRIS Principles below:

-A. Respect for Laws, Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work.

-B. Respect for Ethical and Professional Conduct.

1-Prohibition of Recruitment Fees to Jobseekers
2-Respect for Freedom of Movement
3-Respect for Transparency of Terms and Conditions of Employment
4-Respect for Confidentiality and Data Protection
5-Respect for Access to Remedy

The latest full version of the IRIS Standard is available here.